2011-05-17 / Front Page

‘The Music Man’ To Open 50th Season Of Putnam Playhouse

Pictured above, left to right: Ric McFadden as Harold Hill, Donovan Asbell as Winthrop, Caroline Good as Marian. (Courtesy Photo) Pictured above, left to right: Ric McFadden as Harold Hill, Donovan Asbell as Winthrop, Caroline Good as Marian. (Courtesy Photo) The 50th season of Putnam County Playhouse opens with Meredith Willson’s “The Music Man.” It will be produced June 2-4 and June 8-11. All performances begin at 8:00 p.m. Tickets are $10 each and can be reserved by calling the box office of the Hazel Day Longden Theatre in Greencastle at 765-653- 5880. The box office is open Monday through Saturday from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

The musical is being directed by Shelly McFadden who directed last season’s comedy Never Too Late. Music director and pianist is Marilyn Burdsall. Others in the pit include Michael McClaine, Drew Brattain, Marcia Boswell, and Luke Smedley. Vocal direction is by Kathryn Dory.

The show is being sponsored in part by Duke Energy Foundation and First National Bank.

Playing the leading roles are Ric McFadden as Harold Hill, who arrives in River City, Iowa, to raise money for a boy’s band; and Caroline Good as Marian Paroo, the local piano teacher who sees through his scheme.

Performers in featured roles include Eleanor Howard as Marian’s mother; Donovan Asbell as Winthrop, her brother; Scott Armitage as Marcellus Washburn; and Annie Weltz as Ethel Toffelmeier.

The cast also includes Jack Randall Earles and McFadden as Mayor Shinn and his wife; Alixandra Green and Arianna Pershing as their daughters; and Kenny Buchanan as Tom- my Djilas. The local school board, a singing quartet, is Alex Asbell, Dustin Bond, Troy Pierce, and Jim Rambo.

Others playing roles are Jim Green, Susanna Howard, Mira Hoffman, Kyla Scheuermann, Kayla Myer, Don Wilson, Clarence Long, and Deb Gannaway.

The ensemble includes Amelia Beck, Sidney Cassida, Kaila Thurston, Fiona White, Carly Rhine, Elise Merrell, Seth Miller, Joe Lippard, Alex Briones, Ethan Gill, Sarah Bond, Josie Wood, Kay Wood, Kristen Hutcheson, Owen Boatright, Bailey Hornsby, and Matthew Myer.

Also in the cast are Gayle Baugh, Mia Muckey, Fiona Good, Marin Nally, Kensie Bumgarnder, Mary Katherine Asbell, Lindsey Bridgewater, Seelye Stoffregan, and Shelby Paxton.

Assistant director is TJ Tincher. Choreographer is Lori Briones. Linda Gjesvold is the scene designer, and Matt McClaine is the technical director for the musical. Costume design is by Pat Armitage and Sarah Bond, who also constructed the costumes along with Heather Hastings. Running the lights is Melissa Green.

Production Stage Manager is Jessica Masner. On the stage crew are Josh Masner, Heather Muttart, Cy Spencer, and Sarah Dory.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2011-05-17 digital edition