2011-07-19 / Front Page

CCSC Board Members Sworn In; Fidler New Board President

Asbury, Huge Sworn In For A First Term; Fidler, Mann, Hepfer Voted New Officers
by Amanda York Staff Writer

The Cloverdale Community School Corporation Board came together July 11 for their month of July meeting. All seven members, including new members Brian Asbury and Duane Huge, were in attendance.

After the approval of the night’s agenda Dr. Carrie Milner swore in the new members, Asbury and Huge, as well as returning member Pamelia ‘Cookie’ Hepfer.

Following the swearingin ceremony, the sevenmember panel moved on to board organization and election of officers. After several nominations that were declined, a nomination and second was made to elect Donna Fidler president of the new board. After a vote, it was moved that Fidler would be the new board president. Linda Mann is the board’s new vice president and Hepfer is the new secretary.

Several other matters were approved during the board organization portion of the meeting including the establishment of board meeting dates – the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Arthur L. Johnson Administration Center. The board members will be compensated at $2,000 per year. The seven-member panel appointed Debbie Leonard as corporation treasurer, Terri Bailey as deputy treasurer and Karen Dutcher from Ice Miller as the corporation attorney. The Spencer Evening World and Greencastle Banner Graphic were designated as newspapers for advertisement.

After the approval of June 13 meeting minutes and claims and financial reports, the board heard a 2011 bus inspection update from Joel Kennelly. Mr. Kennelly noted that despite inspections being moved up from the first of August to the end of June, the Cloverdale fleet earned a 100 percent passing grade.

Moving on to old business, Dr. Milner gave an update on the football and baseball field lighting, explaining that a much better financing deal was achieved through First National Bank. The board voted to approve the action and signed the contract. The panel also voted to approve the revised 2012 budget adoption schedule.

Under new business the board voted to approve textbook rental fees, Title I District Wide Plan and granted permission to advertise the annual financial report. Also voted on and approved were two facility use requests, one professional leave request and one field trip request.

In personnel matters, the board voted unanimously to approve the following:


•Laura Beth Cross, CHS family and consumer science teacher

•John Butler, CHS social studies/government teacher

•Adam Hoersten, CHS chemistry teacher


•Shelia Anderson, CMS Principal


•Stacey Baugh, Principal K-8

•Heather Nees, CHS math teacher

•Amanda Gibboney, CHS social studies/government teacher

•Jamie Steffy, CMS social studies teacher

•Julie Gellert, CMS math teacher

•Ellen Hart, CES first grade teacher

•David Petty, CMS sixth grade teacher

•Jennifer Segner, CHS media center specialist

•Give superintendent permission to accept resignations/ fill vacant positions

The next meeting of the CCSC Board will be held at 7:00 p.m., Monday, August 8 in the Arthur L. Johnson Administration Center, located on East Logan Street in Cloverdale.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2011-07-19 digital edition