2012-09-04 / Front Page

Candidates Beat Deadline To File For Area School Board Elections

Barbara Nees To Run Unopposed For Seat On Cloverdale Board
Staff Report

Voters will have a choice in all three of the Spencer- Owen School Board districts up for election this fall, while an incumbent facing no opposition on the Cloverdale School Board will retain her seat in Jackson Township.

This year, voters are being tasked with selecting school board members in the fall instead of the spring. The switch is the result of a new state law, which required all school board elections to be conducted in the fall. The law aims to get more people to participate in the election by moving it to the time when more people turn out to vote. According to state election records, 21 percent of Indiana voters participated in the 2010 spring primary, while 41 percent participated in the fall.

Spencer-Owen School
District 1
•Kevin Cooper
•Chad Dow
District 4
•Rick Smeltzer
•Renee West
District 5
(Vote For Two)
•Sonia Brinson
•Brian Mauder
•Shawn Bucy
Cloverdale School Board
Cloverdale Township
•Tim Powell

•Rob Schroer
•Chris Mann
•Donna Fidler
•Chris Kaufman
Jackson Township
•Barbara “Bobbi” Nees

Members of the Spencer Owen School Board receive an annual salary of $1,000, in addition to $100 per meeting attended. The board holds an average of 18 meetings per year (January through December), including two each in the months of January, April, May, July, August and September.

It’s important to remember that only a select number of Owen County residents will vote for the one local seat up for election on the Cloverdale School Board – Jackson Township.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2012-09-04 digital edition