2014-04-08 / Front Page

FEMA Denies Indiana Assistance For Early January Snowstorm; State Plans To Appeal

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has denied Indiana’s request for assistance to governments and certain non profits from the severe winter storm that occurred on January 5-9.

Indiana plans to appeal the decision.

On March 6th, Indiana requested federal grants for government and certain non-profit organizations in 49 counties.

In addition to Owen and Putnam, the counties that were included in the request were Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Johnson, Kosciusko,

LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Parke, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, Wells, White and Whitley.

The federal grants requested for governments and certain non-profit organizations are under the FEMA designation of public assistance. Public assistance grants would pay 75 percent of eligible expenses including debris and snow removal, emergency protective measures such as search and rescue, and damage to buildings and equipment.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2014-04-08 digital edition