2014-08-12 / Front Page

Filing Deadline Is August 22 For Local School Board Candidates

Staff Report

As of this past Friday afternoon, just two candidates had filed for Spencer Owen School Board ahead of the November 4 general election, while declarations of candidacy had yet to be received for three open seats on the Cloverdale School Board.

At Cloverdale, the seats representing Jennings and Taylor townships in Owen, as well as the seat for Cloverdale Township and the Town of Cloverdale will be open. Jennings Township is currently represented by Pamelia Hepfer, Taylor by Duane Huge and Cloverdale Township by Brian Asbury.

According to the new reorganizational plan for S-OCS filed with the Owen County Clerk’s Office on July 28th, the following districts are on the November ballot:

District 2, which includes Lafayette, Morgan and Montgomery townships; District 3, which include Jefferson and Marion townships; and District 5, which encompasses Washington Township and the Town of Spencer.

District 2 incumbent Larry Hight and District 5 incumbent Jack White were the only filings reported as of noon on Friday.

District 3 is currently filled by sitting board president Tom Abrell.

The deadline to file for candidacy with the county clerk’s election division is Friday, August 22, by 12 noon as a candidate or a write in candidate.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2014-08-12 digital edition