2015-03-31 / Front Page

Cooper Neese Among Select Group To Receive ‘Supreme 15’ Accolades

Staff Report

Cooper Neese helped lead Cloverdale to a 22-6 record and this year’s Class 2A, Sectional 44 title. (File Photo) Cooper Neese helped lead Cloverdale to a 22-6 record and this year’s Class 2A, Sectional 44 title. (File Photo) Cooper Neese, a sophomore at Cloverdale High School, is one of 15 seniors and 15 underclass boys’ basketball players to earn Indiana Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA)/Subway “Supreme 15” All-State honors for 2014-2015.

In a new level of awards, the IBCA also named 30 Large School All-State players (15 seniors, 15 underclass) and 30 Small School All-State players (15 seniors, 15 underclass).

The “Supreme 15” is the top honor awarded, and players were voted to that group without regard to school size. The Large School and Small School all-state teams are secondary accolades – the Large School group including players from Class 3A and Class 4A schools and the Small School group including players from Class A and Class 2A schools. Players who make the Supreme 15 are not considered for Large School or Small School honors.

Joining Neese on the Small School All-State (players from 1A and 2A schools) list are: Desmond Bane, Seton Catholic; Evan Borgman, Jac-Cen-Del; Mason Degenkolb, Tipton; Josh Dieball, Linton- Stockton; Kiante Ellis, Winchester; Eugene German, Gary 21st Century; Jaren Jackson, Park Tudor; Logan James, Barr-Reeve; Franklin Nunn, Liberty Christian; Roman Penn, Hammond Noll; Tyler Smith, Northeastern; Devan Straub, Evansville Mater Dei; Brandon VanSant, Bloomfield; and Brian Warren, Indianapolis Howe.

In addition, 78 more seniors and 77 more underclass players were selected honorable mention allstate. The honorable mention laurels are awarded without regard to school size.

The IBCA/ Subway All-State teams are selected through a process organized by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association and presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana.

All IBCA-member head coaches have the opportunity to nominate top players from schools in the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six dis- trict representatives (two each from IHSAA Districts 1, 2 and 3), then meet to review those nominations, vote and finalize the selections.

Subway Restaurants of Indiana once again is making a financial contribution to the IBCA Scholarship Fund as the presenting partner of the IBCA all-state teams. As part of the partnership, Subway also will provide plaques to Supreme 15 honorees and certificates to players receiving Large School All-State, Small School All- State or honorable mention all-state recognition. Those items will be available to each recipient’s coach at the annual IBCA Clinic in April, allowing her coach to present the award to each player.

Neese is also playing on the nationally-ranked Indy Hoosiers AAU team this spring and summer. The team will compete in its first tournament April 10- 12 in New Orleans.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2015-03-31 digital edition