2015-09-08 / Front Page

Owen One Of Eight Counties Approved For Ag Secretarial Disaster Declaration

On Wednesday, September 2 the U.S. Department of Agriculture approved a secretarial disaster declaration for eight of Indiana’s 92 counties as requested by Governor Mike Pence, Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, and Indiana Farm Service Agency Executive Director Julia A. Wickard in a letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack in August. The request came after Indiana farmers suffered significant crop damage and losses caused by flooding and excessive rain since May 1 of this year. Fifty-three other counties were previously approved on August 12 after a similar request.

“It has been a challenging year for Hoosier farmers. I’m grateful that the United States Department of Agriculture has recognized the hardships our farmers have faced by making available low-interest loans to additional Indiana counties,” Pence said. “Hoosier farmers are resilient, but this designation will help those who suffered property damage as a result of the significant rainfall and flooding.”

Under the secretarial disaster declaration, low-interest emergency loans are available to all producers suffering losses in the eight counties for which the secretarial disaster has been approved, as well as in affected contiguous counties. These counties include Clark, Fulton, Morgan, Owen, Rush, Shelby, White, and Whitley counties.

Farmers interested in applying for loans can visit http://offices. sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/ app?state=in&agency=fsa and contact their local FSA offices for application details.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2015-09-08 digital edition